Best Patch Management Software · 2026

Action1 logoAction1 vs N-able N-central logoN-able N-central

Action1 vs N-able N-central: on our data-weighted scoring, Action1 edges ahead (8.8 vs 7.4/10). Action1 starts at $4/endpoint/mo and is best for SMB and MSP teams whose #1 job is patching (free up to 200 endpoints); N-able N-central starts at Custom quote and is best for growing-to-large MSPs needing scalable RMM with deep automation. Choose Action1 for the stronger overall track record; consider N-able N-central if its pricing model or fit matches your environment better. Side-by-side table below.

Affiliate disclosure: Some links may be affiliate or partner links. If you sign up through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This never changes our scores or rankings. Learn more.

Our pick

Action1

8.8/10
MSP Compared score
Starting price
$4/endpoint/mo
Reviews
4.8/5 (~300 G2 reviews)
Free trial
Free tier + 15-day full trial
Deployment
Cloud
Best for
SMB and MSP teams whose #1 job is patching (free up to 200 endpoints)
Visit Action1 →

N-able N-central

7.4/10
MSP Compared score
Starting price
Custom quote
Reviews
4.3/5 (~200 G2 reviews)
Free trial
Free trial
Deployment
Cloud + on-prem
Best for
Growing-to-large MSPs needing scalable RMM with deep automation
Visit N-able N-central →

Strengths at a glance

Six criteria, each scored 0–10 on the same scale from real review data, public pricing and feature coverage. See our methodology →

EditorialUser reviewsAdoptionAffordabilityFeature breadthEase of trial
Action1N-able N-central
CriterionAction1N-able N-central
Editorial 8.8 7.4
User reviews 9.6 8.6
Adoption 6.6 6.1
Affordability 9.5 5.0
Feature breadth 6.0 5.0
Ease of trial 10.0 6.0

Action1 vs N-able N-central: head-to-head

Action1 vs N-able N-central — specs and pricing
Action1N-able N-central
Starting price $4/endpoint/mo Custom quote
Pricing model per endpoint quote
Free trial / tier Free tier + 15-day full trial Free trial
Best for SMB and MSP teams whose #1 job is patching (free up to 200 endpoints) Growing-to-large MSPs needing scalable RMM with deep automation
Deployment Cloud Cloud + on-prem
G2 rating 4.8/5 (300) 4.3/5 (200)
Capterra rating
Our score 8.8 7.4

Choose Action1 if…

You need smb and msp teams whose #1 job is patching (free up to 200 endpoints).

Pros

  • Genuinely free up to 200 endpoints with no feature gating
  • Cloud-native — no on-prem servers
  • Strong third-party app catalog

Cons

  • Windows-first (limited macOS depth)
  • Support is a separate paid add-on on Growth
  • Scales by endpoint count

Action1 pricing · review

Choose N-able N-central if…

You need growing-to-large msps needing scalable rmm with deep automation.

Pros

  • Scales to large fleets
  • Strong automation
  • Mature ecosystem

Cons

  • Complex setup
  • Quote pricing
  • UI dated

N-able N-central pricing · review

In depth

In Depth

Pricing

AspectAction1N-able N-central
ModelPer-endpoint/monthCustom quote
Free TierYes (up to 200 endpoints, all features)No
Free Trial15 days (full access)Yes (duration not specified)
Starting Price$4/endpoint/mo (Growth tier, annual)Contact sales
ScalingLinear by endpoint countVolume-based (opaque)

Verdict: Action1 wins decisively on pricing transparency and accessibility. The free tier alone justifies evaluation for any team under 200 devices. N-able’s quote-based model introduces sales friction and unpredictable costs as you scale.

Features & Deployment

Action1 narrows its focus: patching (OS + third-party), risk-based prioritization (CVE/CVSS/CISA KEV), peer-to-peer distribution, vulnerability scanning, remote access, and remediation automation. It’s a specialist platform.

N-able N-central casts a wider net: full RMM, automation manager, patch management, integrated security, and remote access. It’s a generalist platform for MSPs managing entire client estates.

FactorAction1N-able N-central
DeploymentCloud onlyCloud + on-prem
Primary StrengthPatch management depthEnterprise-scale RMM
OS CoverageWindows-first; limited macOSNot specified; RMM-native
AutomationRemediation-focusedWorkflow engine (Automation Manager)

Verdict: Choose Action1 if patching is your bottleneck. Choose N-able if you need a unified management console for 500+ endpoints across diverse workloads.

Ratings & Satisfaction

PlatformG2 ScoreReview CountOur Score
Action14.8/53008.8/10
N-able N-central4.3/52007.4/10

Action1’s higher ratings reflect focused, successful deployments in its core use case. N-able’s lower score likely reflects the complexity and customization friction of large-scale RMM implementations.

Verdict

  • Action1: Pick this if you’re an SMB/MSP whose #1 pain point is patch chaos. The free tier is a no-brainer trial, and the $4/endpoint price is unbeatable if you stay focused on vulnerability remediation.
  • N-able N-central: Pick this if you’re already an MSP with 500+ endpoints and need single-pane-of-glass control, heavy automation, and aren’t price-sensitive. Expect complexity in setup and opaque per-seat costs.

Action1 is the scrappy specialist; N-able is the enterprise workhorse. For pure patch management, Action1 dominates. For integrated MSP operations, N-able justifies its overhead—but get a quote first.

Frequently asked questions

Action1 vs N-able N-central: which is better?
Action1 vs N-able N-central: on our data-weighted scoring, Action1 edges ahead (8.8 vs 7.4/10). Action1 starts at $4/endpoint/mo and is best for SMB and MSP teams whose #1 job is patching (free up to 200 endpoints); N-able N-central starts at Custom quote and is best for growing-to-large MSPs needing scalable RMM with deep automation.
Is Action1 cheaper than N-able N-central?
Action1 starts at $4/endpoint/mo and N-able N-central starts at Custom quote (see the pricing rows for models and limits).
Data as of September 17, 2026. Sources: action1.com, n-able.com. Figures are pulled from public vendor and security data and refreshed automatically.